“Digital Stripper, Cassette Courtesan” or, an 8 Minute Descent into Madness by Asbestos Lead Asbestos

Indigo Hope Finamore
2 min readDec 24, 2018

Okay, I know you’re looking at this wondering why I chose to have such a long title for this review. In truth, I share a label and have shared a stage several times with Asbestos Lead Asbestos. Joey White, one of the members of this dynamic dyad, asked me to write a “scathing” review of Asbestos Lead Asbestos’ discography. Dear reader, I tried to come up with overindulgent execrations to parallel the over the top, psychedelic, sexual extravagance of Asbestos Lead Asbestos, but I could not, so I must only do what is logical and be ostentatious in my honesty.

Asbestos Lead Asbestos are an electronic duo out of Chicago (cough, Wheaton), IL known for their electrifying beats and sawtooth synths. Their lyrics are a study in shock value, and, from experience, are incredibly fun to yell along to at a house show. One can hear influences and elements of CupcakKe, JPEGMAFIA, YouTube ASMR videos, Mitski, Devo, and so many more within Asbestos Lead Asbestos’ tracks and every track is a surprise.

“Digital Stripper, Cassette Courtesan” is an 8 minute long test of one’s mental fortitude, and the video is just as frenetic and freewheeling as the glitchpop, hip-hop, synthwave track. The song opens with moans, screams, and sampled speech, immediately thrusting the…

--

--

Indigo Hope Finamore

Indigo Hope Finamore is a musician, composer, and producer. They/Them